Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

What happens when Satan rocks your world? What do you do
when he hits you with one devastation after another? I now truly understand
that nothing in life is ever certain. God is the only certainty I will ever
have, the only One I can count on.

Today I have once again learned the importance of Paul’s
words when he tells us in 1 Corinthians 3 not to follow Paul or Apollos, but to
follow Christ Jesus. Jesus is the only One who will ever be right every time. I
know this, but I am still unprepared when a role model lets me down. “So the
one who plants is not important, and the one who waters is not important. Only
God, who makes things grow, is important,” 1 Corinthians 3:7.

I just happened to open up Biblegateway.com and the verse of
the day is Leviticus 19:18 (NCV). “Forget about the wrong things people do to
you, and do not try to get even. Love your neighbor as you love yourself. I am
the Lord.” This verse really encompasses a lot of what happened today and what
has happened in the past. No matter what happens, the only thing I can ever,
should ever, do is live this verse. Forget, forgive, love, and remember that my
God is greater than he who is in the world.

Life will certainly be different now, for me, for my family,
and for a lot of other people I know and care about. But I know that God is
here. Somehow, I know, too, that He is hurting, just like me. I mentioned in a
blog post on April 21 that I believe God is hurt when His children do not
believe Him, and I also believe that He is hurt when we sin against Him. It is
times like this that make me glad my heart is not nearly as big as God’s heart,
for surely I could not bear the pain that He must share with all of His
children. I am also doubly glad that my God is strong and mighty and He can “make
beautiful things out of the dust” (Beautiful Things by Gungor). The only thing
left for me to do is to live my life in the name of Christ, and Christ alone.

