Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today, I made the mistake of looking at some of my old
Facebook photos. Every time I found a picture of me and friends I miss, I
caught myself thinking Oh! I was so happy
then when we were all together!
Finally, when I could feel the old
melancholy drifting in, I stopped and thought instead But aren’t I happy now?

It’s true that this summer has been very different from school
time. I’ve not had much of a chance to be around my friends or even people my own
age, and a lot of undesirable situations have come along in the past few
months. But I have learned so much! I have gained so much experience and worked
hard to learn and accomplish new things. I am learning about people and about
leadership. I am learning practical skills and having fun. I am happy! Nehemiah
8:10b (NLT) says “Don’t be dejected and sad, for the joy of the Lord is your
strength!” I am joyful, and I am joyful because the Lord has saved me and cared
for me. Again, it is why I must put my hope in Him. Friends will come and go no
matter how hard I try to keep them, but my Jesus will never leave. He is
reminding me that He will always wait for me and never move on without me. In
fact, God has given me this summer away from many of the people I know in order
to help me learn more about myself and about myself in Him. I’ve found that
there is a lot to catch up on.

