Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

As you all know (at least, I assume) by now, I am working at
a day camp for the summer. I have attended this day camp since I was ten
years-old. I have been a camper, counselor aide, and volunteer counselor out
there every summer but one. This camp is special to me.

(Advertisement: If you are looking for a fun, safe place to
send your kids, this is it. If you want to volunteer and work with kids, just
let me know. I will definitely hook you up!)

This summer, I have found that the songs are the one part of
camp that is most special to me. I won’t say they are my favorite parts because
I have lots of favorites, but they are definitely special. For one thing, I
have not heard most of the songs anywhere other than at camp. Therefore, the
songs are directly related to my camp memories. In turn, these songs solidify
my memories. I can take these songs with me anywhere I am, and then I can
retrieve the memories more easily. I will always remember the counselors who
first taught me my favorite songs. Truly, memories have always fascinated me. I
cannot forever keep the first fish I ever caught at camp (which was actually
last week), and I can’t take a canoe ride on the creek whenever I wish. But I
can remember. The songs really are what I most easily remember, too. We sing
the same ones every year, and a few of them can become repetitious after a
while, but this is why it is important to me that I, as the Activities
Coordinator, and all the counselors and counselor aides continue to teach every
song we know.

Memories are interesting, especially considering how
memories can affect us. There are several things about camp that I simply
cannot remember, and I often feel a desperate longing to complete those
memories (and all of my memories). I truly am thankful that I have never had to
endure amnesia. Additionally, the fact that our memories determine our feelings
toward an object/place/person/situation is incredibly intriguing. For example,
my car accident last week occurred outside of camp. I am not scared of or upset
with the camp because of the accident, but I will forever associate my first
car with that camp and the people who helped me. There have been many
situations, though, in which my memories have led to more negative associations
(i.e., my aversion to spaghetti). Additionally, I think that music and songs
can enhance the associations that our memories create. Really, this is why the
camp songs are so very special to me. The songs simply enhance my memories. I
see many campers and counselors who do not like to sing the camp songs, and as
silly as it may sound, this really does sadden me. I suppose I simply expect
everyone to experience things in the same way as me. Obviously, that is an
unreasonable expectation, but it will not stop me from trying my best to teach
kids as many camp songs as I possibly can.

