Tags

, , , , ,

I regret to say that today I will be using this blog for my own selfish purposes. However, this does not put me off my desire to display my outrage. Yes, I have a bone to pick. With this little bugger right here –> ¢. The cents symbol! Honestly, I am still not quite sure why I am so worked up about this, but this is why it makes a good post, yes?

In order to allow you to completely understand my dilemma, I will take you back to my third grade classroom. This was the year the state decided that I should learn how to write mathematical equations concerning money. To properly write the math equations, my teacher had to first teach my class to write the dollar and cents symbols. At the time, I only had a problem with the dollars symbol. A pair of lines running vertically through a capital S. It seemed simple enough, except that my S was always too small, so I couldn’t fit two lines in it. Then, I learned that it was perfectly acceptable to draw only one line through the S, and from then on I have had no problems. Even the computer will type a dollar sign with only one line. $ Then, after I learned the dollar symbol, I learned the cents symbol. I was so excited about this one
because it was simpler than the dollar symbol. One lower case C with only one vertical line in the middle. Only one line! Hooray!

After third grade, I never thought about those symbols again. I used them when I needed them, and that was it. Until Thursday, that is. This was the day in my Primary Mathematics Methods class when we (the students) had to give a math lesson fitting first, second, or third grade. One of the girls in my class chose to teach us about money. I thought nothing of it until she showed us how to write the cents symbol. That was when she blew my mind. The cents symbol was to be written with a slash through it, not a line. At first, I was astonished. “It’s supposed to be a vertical line!” I wanted to shout. But I held my tongue, and I remembered that she was from Canada. Maybe Canadians write their cents symbols a wee bit differently that we do in the States. For the duration on the lesson, I wrote my cents symbols with vertical lines, and did not worry about it.

However, this afternoon, I decided to look at my computer keyboard and see how the computer typed the cents symbol. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that, lo and behold, the standard Qwerty keyboard does not have a key designated for the cents symbol! I was astonished! How had I never noticed this? I am not sure. But I still wanted to know the proper way to write a cents symbol, so I opened a Word document and went to the Symbol button. I expected the cents symbol to be one of the first symbols to pop up. No! I had to click on More Symbols and then look for the cents symbol! At this point, I became very distressed by the obvious disregard for the cents symbol. I had always believed that cents were a very integral part of our economy, so why should it seem that their symbol is so unimportant that it does not even deserve a computer keyboard key? But I did not think about this long. Instead, I found the cents symbol on my Word document. And it had a slash running through it. I have spent my life writing my cents incorrectly. And now, I am so upset that I have just spent the past 631 words telling the whole world about it. The public school system really is out to get me. But I refuse to change my ways. I am stubborn, and I will continue writing my cents symbols with vertical lines just as I have since third grade. There will be no slashes for this girl.

