Tags

, , , , , ,

Do You Want My Vote?stealingfaith.com

Above, there is a link that you should click on. Go ahead, do it. The author of this blog, Juggler, has hit on a few points that are very dear to my own heart. Generally, I steer clear of anything political because I know that I simply do not have enough information to say anything of note. However, this blog comes down to the basics of what is important not only when we are voting for given politicians, but also when we encounter people on a daily basis.

Juggler primarily directs her words toward politicians who are catering toward women. Previously, I have mentioned how I feel about people making assumptions and expectations based on observed characteristics, and Juggler makes an even stronger point.

Politicians are telling women that we ought to fight for equality, and they are telling men to stand aside and let us have that equality. Yet, in God’s eyes, we are already created equal. Genesis 1:26-27 says “26 Then God said, ‘Let us make human beings[b] in our image, to be like us. They will reign over the fish in the sea, the birds in the sky, the livestock, all the wild animals on the earth, and the small animals that scurry along the ground.’ 27 So God created human beings[c] in his own image. In the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.” God, who was neither male nor female, created both in His image to be just like Him. In God, there is no glass ceiling, only salvation. God does not distinguish our abilities based on male and female characteristics because He sees each of us, individually, for exactly who we are and who we can be in Him.

I am not going to offer any political advice because I still do not feel that I am qualified to give it, but please consider, once again, how you treat people. Treat people equally, but not based on race, gender, age, or religion. Treat people fairly and equally because that is how God calls His children to treat all people.

