Tags

, , , , , ,

So, way back in August I had intended to use this blog a bit more to record my experiences in student teaching. I meant to write about my very first day. I meant to write about my wonderful class of third graders. I meant to do a lot of spiffy blogging things. And I never did. Not only was I tired, but I simply had no words for that first day. Or that first week. Or anything since then. Who’d have guessed that teaching could be so overwhelming? Data teams, FLEX groups, PLC meetings – I don’t even know what those things are! Literacy by Design, FOSS Kits, Everyday Mathematics, Common Core Standards, Literacy First, Reading Counts – how am I supposed to organize it all? To make it all worse, I have to take the pre-planned lessons in the school curriculum and write my own lesson plans using my university’s lesson plan form just so I can get my own grade. I am a firm believer in “working smarter, not harder,” and putting sticky notes in the teacher books seems a lot smarter to me than daily rewriting five or six entire lesson plans that I won’t even have time to use.

Which is what I should be doing right now – rewriting lesson plans. And I will do it. I will do it because I have to, but I still feel like I have no words suitable to accurately describe my teaching experience so far. Although, I must be doing a good job because one little girl hollered out in class that she wished I was the real teacher. Unfortunately, the regular classroom teacher was still in the room. Talk about a sticky situation.

I’ve read that student teaching will be the easiest thing I ever do as a teacher. Considering how few responsibilities I actually have so far, I believe that must be true, but I think it must also be the most uncomfortable and disconcerting position in which I’ll ever be placed.

