Tags

, , , , , ,

Oh my goodness! It’s the last day of 2012! And I have blogged a grand total of 13 times this year. I suppose I could round it off to a nice even 14, how’s that? So, I have decided to share with you 5 important things I learned this year. Please note that they are listed in no particular order except what comes into my brain first.

1. Our beautiful world still exists! I know some people will disagree on the actual amount of beauty in our world, how our world was created, how/when it will be destroyed, and how to take care of it, but that is not the point. God created this world to be a home and provider for His children, and He intends for us to stay here for now. I think we all learned a valuable lesson about Matthew 24:32 – 36 on December 21 – don’t you?

2. Apologies are hard. I certainly do not have all the answers for this one. However, I have also learned that forgiveness is even harder. I would greatly appreciate any advice on the subject.

3. Tragedy happens. We cannot explain it away. We cannot make legislation against it. We cannot stop it. On December 14th our nation mourned for the children of Sandy Hook, Connecticut, but we could not save them. This story shook me to the core, but it reminded me of something that occurred thousands of years ago. Matthew 2:13 – 18 tells how King Herod killed all the baby boys in and around Bethlehem in his mad desire to murder Jesus Christ. Verse 18 says “A cry was heard in Ramah – weeping and great mourning. Rachel weeps for her children, refusing to be comforted, for they are dead.” I know the families in Sandy Hook felt just this way, and I heard many people asking “Why didn’t God keep this from happening?” Well, I don’t know why. I don’t why He decided to save just Jesus, either, instead of all the children. God is our provider and protector, our fortress and strength, but He has given all people the free will to do as they please. Evil exists in our world not because God allows it to happen, but because Satan has a stronghold in the hearts of God’s people. Therefore, I know that I can only face the tragedies in my life and seek God’s peace.

4. Life is easier when you shut up. Try it. It really works! Sometimes your outrage is so all-consuming that you simply have to say something! But I promise that you never say the right thing when you are angry. I, personally, seem to always say the wrong thing, but it’s worse when I am angry.

5. Murphy’s Law is especially true when it comes to toes. If there is something around for me to run into or trip over, then I probably will. And my toes will take the brunt of it. This is hugely disappointing (and painful) for a dancer. Ouch.

I hope you have enjoyed this short, sporadic jaunt into my history. I can assure you that it is in no way complete, but I simply cannot remember the complete history of my life. This is why my blog ought to be higher on my list of priorities, wouldn’t you say? Since I never make New Year’s Resolutions, though, I will simply try to post here more often.

Happy New Year!

