Tags

Two more weeks.

That’s how much longer I will be teaching during the 2013-2014 school year. So far, I’ve done it! I have two more weeks, but I’ve done it! It hasn’t been perfect. It hasn’t even always been my “best,” but it has been accomplished. I will continue to pour my whole self into these next few days, but I know that I can’t do much more for my students right now. I have to trust God that I have done all I can and He will do the rest.

Galatians 6:9 – Do not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

Last week, my team received the results of our third graders’ state reading test. An Unsatisfactory score will result in retention this year (unless the student can meet certain exemptions). For some of my students, I am seeing the harvest I planted at the beginning of the year. For others, I see nothing yet to reap. I see the patches I did not properly tend and nurture, and sadness and regret fills my heart. Yet, God has promised me that there will be a harvest. His only condition is that I do not stop working. There are students I will see again next year. For now, they need to know what they can do alone, but next year they will need my help and encouragement more than ever. I’ve always believed in retention when necessary. However, I know it can go horribly wrong, too. This is where I choose to appropriate God’s promise that “we will reap a harvest.” It is my goal to work every day in His name and for the benefit of these students.

May God bless and strengthen all of the teachers who are working with (and around and against) this new third grade retention law. May God encourage and nurture the students who have been retained because of this law. May the Holy Spirit fill our state with the understanding to best help our students at all levels. – Amen

 

